Bass Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Maybe I'm in the wrong spot... But I need some tips on what to bring on my boat.
I've been fishing for a few months now, found a killer deal on a boat. Last weekend I had an impressive Diamondback Water Snake swim in front of the boat (see below).
So it spurred my imagination: what would I need if a snake came on my boat? What if it was poisonous?

I pretty much figured I can't shoot it without running the risk of having to swim home...

What do you guys do?

Attachments

·
Registered
553 Posts
It's a Texas Banded Water Snake , harmless but aggressive . Use the net and pin his head then throw it overboard , don't kill it . DG

·
Registered
501 Posts
if you whip the water in front of em with your rod before they get to the boat alot of the time they turn around and swim away... Make sure you don't hit the snake with a crankbait or something with alot of treble hooks on it though... that could turn out to be a big mistake (especially if it is a water moccasin instead of a nonvenomous snake)...

·
Registered
2,298 Posts
Never had one try to come on my boat in 35+ years of fishing. Most snakes prefer to flee rather than fight, unless they are cornered. If you see one swimming give them a wide berth. Avoid drifting under overhanging tree branches. If one did try to get on my boat I would use a paddle, landing net, etc. to push it away if it was still in the water or, if it got on the boat, to throw it back in the water. The vast majority of the snakes you encounter on the water will be non-poisonous types.

·
Registered
1,176 Posts
Wish I could say that JT. Had one like that come into my boat out in front of the fat farm one night. It was laying on my back deck when I just happened to look back and see it. Nearly pissed my britches before flipping it out with my rod tip. Found myself looking back the rest of the night.

·
Registered
2,308 Posts