Bass Fishing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all
This is great. I moved to austin going on about 2 yrs ago. I am use to fishing Sam Rayburn and Toledo Bend. I just went out for the first time on Lake Austin last week and didn't get one bite. Where should I start and what works out here. I tried spinners, lizards, frog, crank, rattle trap, worm.........Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks

· Registered
12 Posts
Hey Green
I'm from east texas myself and used to fishing rayburn and toledo. I've been fishing around austin for about 3 years now and it seems tougher than back home. LA is a tough lake to fish. The water is so much clearer here and you really have to pay attention to your line color! Try Bastrop. It's more like the lakes back home.

· Registered
1,895 Posts
Where are you two guys from? I grew up in Orange. Spent a few days on Big Sam and Toledo myself.

I'll be out on Lake Austin tomorrow morning. Hopefully, we can stick a few fish. I'll be sure to post up; catch or no catch!

Wurm

· Registered
3,573 Posts
Give it some time, Austin is a very tough lake to fish and even tougher during the spawn.  But with the warm weather and rice farmers in need of water, two of the biggest factors are about to change the way Austin fishes...wakeboard traffic and release schedules.  Dirty, moving water is about to set the lake on fire!

We'll be starting our Wed Night tournaments out there next week so check back for results and reports.  We'll also be providing details and patterns from the winning sacks on www.ttz1.com.