Bass Fishing Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All!

I am fairly new to Austin, just moved here in August from San Antonio to teach. I love to salt water fish and pretty much have been doing so all my life but now that I have the opportunity to do some freshwater fishing I am looking for tips. I am going out this Saturday and I am really unsure of where to go. So far I have fished Lady Bird Lake (by the power plant, and by Martin Park) and also a private area of Lake Austin. I have had a little luck while I am still trying to get the hang of it. I currently tried a finesse worm or a baby brush hog Texas rigged, or a Hoola Hopper for top water in the morning. This Saturday I will be heading out pretty early but most likely fishing all day and I was wondering if anyone can give me some advice as to where some good public places to fish on Lake Austin are. Or if you prefer a different lake or spot and are willing to share please do.

As far as technique I have assumed that with all the hustle and bustle of boats and downtown Austin, the bass are quite timid especially since its hot this time of year. I read that bass like to be near brush and sticks, but I also read that in temps like we have now, they prefer deep water. I have been casting in mostly 4 to 5 feet of water and working it rather slow with the Texas rig. I also saw a post the other day of a girl who caught a fairly large drum in Lake Austin using what I usually do for Reds which is Crawfish just sitting at the bottom. How normal is it to catch a drum in the water up here? Thanks for all the tips and help while I start my fresh water fishing adventures.

·
Registered
1,466 Posts
S.A. rocks. Drum are plentiful, especially when you are fishing in a bass tourney and you think you hooked a SAL.

·
Registered
6,603 Posts
there are no red drum stocked in austin area lakes.

·
Registered
6,603 Posts