Bass Fishing Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
827 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 2 7' quantum M rods. One is matched with an Abu Garcia SX40, the other with a Pflueger Trion 40, (both spinning reels) and I plan on spooling them with a braid. First question is what weight and brand of braid to use? Second question is I plan on using one as a Senko rig most of the time, probably the Abu Garcia, so I want to tie the Invizx 15lb leader on to it. How long should the leader be? And what knot do you all suggest? I am new to the leader game, and have never used braid before at all. Thank you for any help!

·
Registered
522 Posts
I use 20 pound Power Pro Super Slick braid. I use 10 pound Seguar Red Label leader. Most people use a 7 foot leader. I use a 20-30 foot leader. I don't like having to worry about my leader running out so I make mine really long. I use the Alberto knot.

·
Registered
663 Posts
I use 10lb braid... Don't go higher than 15lb...IMO. I suggest a J-Knot preferably, but if you can't tie that do a Uni to Uni. I would make the leader at least 24" but no more than the length of your rod.

·
Registered
10,702 Posts
I like 20 lb sufix braid with a double uni knot to 20 lb 18 inch flouro leader, or less length. In stained water, or at night, I use no leader, tying braid directly to lure. Good luck.

·
Registered
1,764 Posts
I use 30lb Sufix 832 braid and tie about 20 feet of Sufix Castable Flouro (8-14lb,depending on application) using a double uni knot. Clip the tag ends as close as possible and you'll have no trouble with the knot going thru the rod guides. Good luck, sir!!!

·
Registered
855 Posts
I use 20 pound Power Pro Super Slick braid. I use 10 pound Seguar Red Label leader. Most people use a 7 foot leader. I use a 20-30 foot leader. I don't like having to worry about my leader running out so I make mine really long. I use the Alberto knot.