Bass Fishing Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
700 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys I was tired of hijacking BC's post. I have some questions????

1. Can you use an alternator charger on an outboard? I believe they have a magneto(sp?) instead of an alternator so not sure..

HOA makes it difficult to keep the batteries charged...They filed a lawsuit on me finally, so I had to give in..

2. I have a Motorguide trolling motor now, and it says it can be a 12/24v. Well I tried the 24v setup and the relay started on fire. OOPS. So the question is, is how can a trolling motor be both 12/24v.

3. LA tonight, Travis in the morning, or both????

p.s. I know that I work on electricity for a living, but low voltage gets me every time.

·
Registered
6,502 Posts
Hey guys I was tired of hijacking BC's post. I have some questions????

1. Can you use an alternator charger on an outboard? I believe they have a magneto(sp?) instead of an alternator so not sure..

HOA makes it difficult to keep the batteries charged...They filed a lawsuit on me finally, so I had to give in..

2. I have a Motorguide trolling motor now, and it says it can be a 12/24v. Well I tried the 24v setup and the relay started on fire. OOPS. So the question is, is how can a trolling motor be both 12/24v.

3. LA tonight, Travis in the morning, or both????

p.s. I know that I work on electricity for a living, but low voltage gets me every time.
1. Yes, check this out, here is your solution Minn Kota 2-DC

2. The 12/24V is selected at the foot pedal for the TM at the front of the boat. If you tried to re-wire the batteries for 24V in the rear of the boat that explains the fireworks. Each 12V batt is most likely isolated with it's own relay. Both 12V circuits are present at the plug in the front but the toggle switch on the foot pedal dictates the 12/24V.

3. Neither. Sleep in...Make a big breakfast... And go back to sleep... If in doubt, check the weather report

·
Registered
700 Posts