Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Like Tree19Likes

Thread: Tournament Ethics/Rules Question

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1,231

    Tournament Ethics/Rules Question

    So after some events yesterday, it got me thinking. If you're fishing a tournament, hook a dink... during the retrieve a big fish snaps at the small fish and holds on long enough for you to net it, but was never actually hooked....does this fish need to go back in the lake or in the livewell? Ethically, I would guess back in the lake... but are there typically any rules preventing this? It would be a tough call.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    On the reg
    Posts
    6,461
    Livewell.

    What happens if you hook a dink on an A-Rig and a bigger fish comes to eat him and gets hooked as well? Does he go back in the water?

    Nope, livewell
    "Shit is not like it once was"- AggieGreg

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    7,917
    Dustin, I had no idea you were a tournament director. What trail are you running?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    11,552
    I will have to dig this up, but there was a story years ago that a guy caught a monster fish on Fork, he was crappie fishing and had a crappie hooked up and was reeling it up to the boat, a 14+ lb bass ate the crappie and they landed it. When they brought it into the marina to have it weighed, the guy told the GW how it was caught and he was ticketed for using a game fish as bait. Now, I am not sure if he said he purposely allowed the bass to eat the crappie or what, but as the letter of the law goes, I guess that would technically be considered using a game fish as bait. Most tournament rules say, "you have to follow all state and local laws", so I guess that is where it would be covered. I am pretty curious about this and it is probably worth asking a GW, if they say it is a legal catch, then I don't think there is anything wrong with weighing that fish in a tournament.
    RO and Benny20b like this.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    On the reg
    Posts
    6,461
    Quote Originally Posted by Waylon Papst View Post
    Dustin, I had no idea you were a tournament director. What trail are you running?
    BBP Trail
    Waylon Papst likes this.
    "Shit is not like it once was"- AggieGreg

  6. #6
    Supporting Vendor
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,563
    I think most T's require the fish to be caught on artificial bait-no live bait. If the bigger fish swung at the dink and hooked itself on the bait you would be good to go I would think.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,877
    Never have fished a tourney, but I thought that a fished to be weighed had to be hooked in the mouth.






    I've had the opposite happen.

    Fishing smallies in Canada, I hooked a decent 2-3# and as I was fighting him back to the boat, a northern decided to intervene.
    I came up with about 1/2# of bass.
    RO and BassBlaster like this.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2,090
    Tournament rules are that you cant cull a dead fish so you are stuck with half of what you caught with a 1lb penalty for the fish being dead.
    LTE for the win

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    261
    I almost had this situation several years ago in a tournament. We were on LBJ fishing FOM. Partner was throwing a jerkbait and caught a couple small whites in a row. On the third white, he reeled in really fast because he was pissed he caught another one. As the white hit the top of the water, so did a bass about 9lb with his mouth wide open. If he had been reeling slower the bass probably would have bitten. Keep or chunk in a tournament? Personally, I think keep because you weren't purposely fishing with live bait. Some tournaments have rules stating the fish has to be hooked in the mouth to avoid people snagging bedding bass. In that case, I would say keep if the bass hit hard enough to get the hook in his mouth and chunk if it didn't. Of course this is just my opinion and I would love to know the real answer to this. Legal catch if a bigger fish happens to bite on a smaller fish when you are reeling in?

    Different situation, but down at the coast I have had shark go after snappers as you are reeling them up. A few times the shark managed to get hooked. We released them because they weren't long enough to keep, but would it have been legal to keep assuming they were of legal length? I know you can't use snapper as bait, but technically we weren't. We caught snapper and the shark got caught trying to steal the snapper when we were reeling in. My vote is yes, but I would love to know the law on this.

  10. #10
    Dez
    Dez is online now
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Oak hill
    Posts
    11,593
    Good question. It's happened to me too, at the coast..

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Tournament Rules Question
    By Strictly Biznuss in forum Tournament Information and Results
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-16-2011, 02:57 PM
  2. Tournament Rules
    By Sendero in forum Miscellaneous Info
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2010, 07:37 AM
  3. Who from ABF is fishing CLUB-100/KLBJ Bass Tournament? Rules,too!
    By Ranger_R77 in forum Tournament Information and Results
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 10-29-2008, 01:16 PM
  4. Tournament Rules
    By Hard_Head_Jenkins in forum Tournament Information and Results
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-27-2007, 06:57 PM